link to homepage

Navigation and service

Peer Review Board

The Peer Review Board assists the Scientific Council and the Board of Directors in the reviewing of research proposals applying for supercomputer resources; it evaluates the submitted project proposals and makes recommendations for appropriate grants of supercomputer resources to the applying scientists.

The NIC regularly - at present twice a year - invites research proposals to be submitted. Project requests can in principle be filed by any scientist qualified in the respective field of research. Computer resources are primarily assigned on the basis of independent expert opinions following the criteria and procedures of Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft DFG (German Research Society). The user groups are mainly from Germany. However, NIC also strives to support researchers in Europe with computing time.

The Peer Review Board is composed of scientists in NIC's main research fields. The committee can call in external experts if required.

Chairman of the Peer Review Board:
Prof. Dietrich Wolf, University of Duisburg-Essen

Prof. Frithjof Anders, TU Dortmund
Prof. Peter Biermann, MPI für Radioastronomie, Bonn
Dr. Gustav Bihlmayer, Peter Grünberg Institut, Forschungszentrum Jülich
Prof. Zoltan Fodor, Bergische Universität Wuppertal
Prof. Daniela Jacob, Climate Service Center Hamburg
Prof. Andreas Kempf, Universität Duisburg-Essen
Prof. Kurt Kremer, MPI für Polymerforschung Mainz
Prof. Dietmar Kröner, Universität Freiburg
Prof. Thomas Kühne, Universität Paderborn
Prof. Peter Nielaba, Universität Konstanz
Prof. Thorsten Pöschel, Universität Erlangen
Prof. Michael Rohlfing, Universität Münster
Prof. Rainer Sommer, DESY Zeuthen
Prof. Karl-Heinz Spatschek, Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf
Prof. Christian Stemmer, Technische Universität München (TUM)
Prof. Simon Trebst, Universität Köln
Prof. Wolfgang Wenzel, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Prof. Uwe-Jens Wiese, Universität Bern
Prof. Jean Zinn-Justin, Université Pierre et Marie Curie Paris