Scientific Council

The Scientific Council of the NIC advises the Board of Directors and the Contract Partners on issues relating to the R&D fields of the Competence Groups for Supercomputing Applications, the continued enhancement of computer equipment and other resources for NIC. It lays down the regulations for the allocation of computer resources on NIC's supercomputers in Jülich and in Zeuthen. Furthermore, it advises the Board of Directors regarding the filling of the management position of the Research Groups.

The Scientific Council has supraregional and interdisciplinary members. It consists of 12 to 15 members, who are specialists in NIC's research fields. There are

  • up to 5 members from the Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft, with one member each from Forschungszentrum Jülich, DESY, and GSI among them,
  • up to 5 members from the remaining areas in German scientific community, especially from universities,
  • up to 5 members from the scientific community abroad and from industries.

The members are appointed by the assembly of the contract partners for a period of 3 years. A single reappointment is possible.

The Scientific Council elects a chairman and his deputy for the duration of 3 years. The Scientific Council is supported by a scientific secretariat.

Prof. Marcus Müller, Universität Göttingen

Deputy chairwoman:
Prof. Christine Peter, Universität Konstanz

Prof. Constantia Alexandrou, CaSToRC
Prof. Zoltan Fodor, Universität Wuppertal
Prof. Jochen Heitger, Universität Münster
Prof. Berk Hess, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm
Prof. Thomas Jung, Alfred-Wegener-Institut, Bremerhaven
Prof. Ivan Kisel, GSI Darmstadt
Prof. Stefan Kollet, Forschungszentrum Jülich
Prof. Alessandro Laio, SISSA
Dr. Stephan Schenk, BASF SE
Prof. Tanja Schilling, Universität Freiburg
Dr. Joanna Staneva, Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon
Dr. Maxence Thévenet, DESY

Last Modified: 09.01.2023